Told through the eyes of the Leong’s secret-keeping daughters and wives this stunning debut spans from The Boxer Rebellion to Pearl Harbor to 1960s Hawaii. But for one woman, the darkness of a new era had already made itself at home. Now a powerful magnate, William has weathered the difficult years of King Richard's absence on crusade and is currently serving him on campaign in Normandy while Isabelle governs their estates. Her father is determined to marry her off to a rich man--any rich man, no matter how awful. And that is where the unlikely friendship of Doc Holliday and a fearless lawman named Wyatt Earp begins— before the gunfight at the O.K. Taken as Richard's squire, Ferdia crosses the Narrow Sea to resist the rebellious nobles... Taken as Richard's squire, Ferdia crosses the Narrow Sea to resist the rebellious nobles in Aquitaine, besieging castles and fighting bloody battles with brutal frequency. Unknown to her, however, this isn’t the only man who has her in his sights and a dark obsession bubbles in a stranger watching from the periphery. Dalia Sofer, A perceptive, humane inquiry into Iran's history and soul. During numerous such time-defying episodes with the same young man, she realizes the challenge she’s been given: to protect this young slaveholder until he can father her own great-grandmother. Earlier, Edward had defeated and killed the famous Simon de Montfort in battle; travelled to the Holy Land; conquered Wales, extinguishing forever its native rulers and constructing a magnificent chain of castles. Henry VIII is on the throne, but has no heir. The dashing photographer is Eddie Cohen, a Russian immigrant who has run away from his community and his job as a tailor’s apprentice. Full review >, by I was so astonished by the book that I contacted him... Bernard Cornwell’s epic story of the making of England continues in this eleventh installment in the bestselling Saxon Tales series—"like. Uhtred arrives in the north to discover rebellion, chaos and fear. And he ignites the heart of Coralie. They call themselves the Joy Luck Club. But King Edward IV stole the throne of England, and now the Lancastrian lordling has fled to the far reaches of the world to brood on revenge. . The Known World tells the story of Henry Townsend, a black farmer and former slave who falls under the tutelage of William Robbins, the most powerful man in Manchester County, VA. Making certain he never circumvents the law, Townsend runs his affairs with unusual discipline. Barbara Kingsolver takes us on an epic journey from the Mexico City of artists Diego Rivera and Frida Kahlo to the America of Pearl Harbor, FDR, and J. Edgar Hoover. Richard Dixon, A vivid account of one remarkable family’s role in shaping modern America. I was so astonished by the book that I contacted him... (Source), Philippa Gregory, Bianca Amato, et al | 4.25. Set in a thinly disguised 16th century England, Megan Campisi’s debut novel is a wonderfully woven tale of treason and treachery, women and power. It was written in 1954 and is, of course, of its time – bodice rippers came later. Set over the course of that one night and populated by ghosts of the recently passed and the long dead, Lincoln in the Bardo is a thrilling exploration of death, grief, the powers of good and evil, a novel – in its form and voice – completely unlike anything you have read before. He surrendered to whatever happened in his life. Both women are strong and prepared to stand firm for what they know is right. This epic tale of ambition and rivalry is the prequel to Ken Follett's international bestseller The Pillars of the Earth. Want even more historical fiction? Memoirs of a Geisha book. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell. In the wild, windswept Welsh marches a noble young lord rides homewards, embittered, angry and in danger. This Independence Day holiday week is a great time to read about America’s history. The first book in Ken Follett's series, The Kingsbridge Novels, this historical saga is one to get lost in. 100 All-Time Best Historical Fiction Books One of the Google Alerts I have set up is for the phrase Historical Fiction, mainly so I can collate the HT News posts I do over at Historical Tapestry . San Piedro is haunted by the memory of what happened to its Japanese residents during World War II, when an entire community was sent into exile while its neighbors watched. Readers follow Lucias, a medical student in Vienna, who enlists and finds himself stationed in a remote field-hospital ravaged by typhus. The year is 1729, and Resolute Talbot and her siblings are captured by pirates, taken from their family in Jamaica, and brought to the New World. The product of their union is white-skinned, blonde Josey, who has never known her mother, who was murdered at her birth. Sigrid Undset, Tiina Nunnally, Brad Leithauser. Addicts and bums roam the Bowery; homelessness is rampant. After their bloody defeat of Danish-held East Anglia, the West Saxons stand victorious while the Mercians have taken back their land on the border of Northumbria, the last kingdom of Britain still ruled by the pagan northmen. Wounded Confederate soldier, Inman, walks away from the ravages of the war & back home to his prewar sweetheart, Ada. Paul’s client, George Westinghouse, has been sued by Thomas Edison over a billion-dollar question: Who invented the light bulb and holds the right to power the country? Gas lamps still flicker in the city streets, but the miracle of electric light is in its infancy. Singer bridges these two great traditions in a radiant treatise on how to succeed in life from our spiritual quest to our everyday tribulations. With two such extraordinary parents, much was expected of them. Hetty must balance her determination to protect her charges with her confusing feelings for the lady of the house in this immersive 20th century story. For a Sin Eater hears the confessions of the dying and eats their sins as a funeral rite, and is believed to be stained by these sins.